Tuesday, July 4, 2017


A federal statutory holiday, it celebrates the anniversary of the July 1, 1867, enactment of the Constitution Act, 1867 (then called the British North America Act, 1867), which united the three separate colonies of Canada, Nova Scotia, and New Brunswick into a single Dominion within the British Empire called Canada.[1][2][3] Originally called Dominion Day (French: Le Jour de la Confédération), the holiday was renamed in 1982, the year the Canada Act was passed.

God bless!

PS:Better late than never


1:"Canada in the Making > Constitutional History > 1867–1931: Becoming a Nation". Canadiana. Retrieved June 16, 2011.
2:Department of Natural Resources. "Natural Resources Canada > Atlas Home > Explore Our Maps > History > Territorial Evolution > Territorial Evolution, 1867". Queen's Printer for Canada. Retrieved June 16, 2011.
3:Moore, Christopher (2011). 1867: How the Fathers Made a Deal. McClelland & Stewart. p. 215. ISBN 978-1-55199-483-3. Retrieved June 30, 2013.


No comments:

Post a Comment